MANILA, January 13, 2005 
(STAR) The top sports achievers of 2004 will be honored in simple but fitting rites tonight by the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) at the Manila Pavilion, with golfer Jennifer Rosales and boxer Manny Pacquiao leading the distinguished list as Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year, respectively.

The 90-minute affair begins at 8 p.m. with guest of honor and speaker Jose "Peping" Cojuangco, Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president, leading officials and friends of sports in honoring athletes who made the year just passed a memorable one.

Rosales, 26, who scored a breakthrough win in the tough LPGA Tour with her victory in the Chick-Fil-A Championship in Stockbridge, Georgia, has taken time out from her hectic schedule in the US to personally receive her award from the country’s oldest media organization.

Pacquiao will not be around as the pride of General Santos City is currently in Los Angeles training for his coming 12-round bout with former World Boxing Council (WBC) super featherweight champion Eric Morales.

Receiving the award in behalf of the People’s featherweight champion is either his wife Jinkee, or business manager Rod Nazario.

Other than the traditional plaque handed out by the PSA, both Rosales and Pacquiao will also be given an all in one printer (scan/print/copy) courtesy of Epson, one of the country’s leading manufacturers of printers.

NBN-4 will cover the event to be aired on a later date. Sponsoring the affair hosted by amateur basketball star Alex Compton and Lala Roque are Red Bull, Supermax, PAGCOR, San Miguel Beer, Philippine Sports Commission, Accel and Manila Mayor Lito Atienza.

Young sultry singer Kayla is the special guest performer.

A total of 65 awardees made it to the 2004 list. PSA president Jimmy Cantor of Malaya said those who failed to receive their invitations personally can get theirs at the reception area just before the program.

Aside from Cojuangco other sports officials gracing the affair are Roberto Pagdanganan, chairman of the Philippine Southeast Asian Games Organizing Committee (Philsoc), Frank Elizalde, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) representative to the Philippines, PSC officer-in-charge Butch Ramirez and commissioners Leon Montemayor, Mike Barredo and Ambrosio de Luna, Games and Amusements Board (GAB) chairman Eric Buhain, POC chairman Robert Aventajado, Bacolod City Rep. Monico Puentevella and the respective heads of the various National Sports Associations.

The complete list of awardees

SPORTSWOMAN OF THE YEAR: Jennifer Rosales (golf)

SPORTSMAN OF THE YEAR: Manny Pacquiao (boxing)

SPECIAL AWARDS: Alex Pagulayan (billiards); Jasmine Figueroa (archery); Antoinette Rivero (taekwondo)

PRESIDENTIAL AWARD: Alvin Patrimonio (basketball)

MAJOR AWARDS: Mark Paragua (chess); Nelson Mariano III (chess); Liza del Rosario (bowling) Django Bustamante (billiards); Efren Bata Reyes (billiards); Rhyan Tanguilig (cycling); Gabriel Espinas (amateur basketball); Angelo Que (golf); Patti Dilema (horseracing)

TONY SIDDAYAO AWARD: Wesley So (chess)


HALL OF FAME: Mona Sulaiman (athletics); Lydia de Vega (athletics); Caloy Loyzaga (basketball) Lauro Mumar (basketball)

POSTHUMOUS: Boy Arazas (basketball); Agustin Cailao (swimming); Fely Fajardo (basketball); Purita Negal Jacinto (softball); Faustino Ardina (baseball); Boy Mendez (PSA); Ernie Singson (PSA); Teddy Alfarero (basketball); Rudy Samson (golf); Freddie Deen (darts); Domingo Itchon (basketball)

CITATIONS: Randy Suico(boxing); Gaby dela Merced (karting); Chot Reyes (basketball); Matteo Guidicelli (karting); Don Bosco (sports program); Michelle Bumgarner (karting); Glenn Aguilar (motocross); AR Ramos (golf); Anjou Jellicoe Mauricio (X-Games); Yolanda Mendigoria (powerlifting); Juvic Pagunsan (golf); Enrique Rafael Rosales (powerlifting); BEST Center; Henry Dagmil (athletics); Tagaytay City; Marichi Gandionco (swimming); Kenneth San Andres (motorcross); Miguel Tabuena (golf); JR Gonzales (golf); Totoy Tingzon (baseball); Hermie Esguerra (horseracing);Ato Badolato (basketball); Jayvie Agojo (golf); Dottie Ardina (golf); Rene Catalan (wushu); Roy Vence (athletics); RP archery team; Arvin Ting (wushu); Tyson Sy (AF3); Solar Sports; Rudy Salud (boxing).

MOST PRODUCTIVE NSAs: Taekwondo, badminton.

Reported by: Sol Jose Vanzi

All rights reserved