Quezon City, May 6, 2002 (STAR) For the second year in a row, MTV Philippines honors the best in music video–making in the Philippines with MTV Pilipinas 2002, on June 6 at the NBC Tent in Fort Bonifacio Global City. The event is known to be the biggest night for Philippine music video–making, and with 18 nominees and eight categories, MTV Pilipinas 2002 looks like it’ll be a night to remember.

This year promises to be an even better show than last year’s with more guest performers and celebrity presenters gracing the show. One new category also makes its debut, the “Most Favorite Love Ballad,” presented by Light Blue Dolce & Gabbana Parfum. This award will be voted on by industry judges, along with the awards for Best Director and Best Video.

Pravin Asrani, general manager of sales and marketing for Prestige Products Distribution says, “With the great success of last year’s MTV Pilipinas, we’ve decided to participate in this year’s event by presenting a special award for “Most Favorite Love Ballad.” Filipinos are known in Asia as being true romantics and great balladeers, and this category fits perfectly with Light Blue Dolce & Gabbana Parfum, a scent that celebrates romanticism, femininity, freshness, and charm.”

Once again music lovers may vote for the categories for Best New Artist, Best Group, Best Male, Best Female, and Best Song. The nominees for MTV Pilipinas 2002 are:

Best New Artist: Karylle , for “Can’t Live Without You”; Gabby Eigenmann, for “Loving”; Monsterbot, for “Explosive”; Gloc 9, for “Isang Araw”; Jennifer Cuneta, for “Chip On My Shoulder.”

Best Group: Wolfgang, for “Meckam”; Rivermaya, for “Umaaraw, Umuulan”; Barbie’s Cradle, for “Money for Food”; True Faith, for “Sumarap Ang Gising”; Cheese, for “Mottaka.”

Best Male: Gary Valenciano featuring Kyla, for “Can We Just Stop and Talk A While”; Janno Gibbs featuring Pilita Corrales, for “Kapantay Ay Langit”; Janno Gibbs featuring Pops Fernandez, for “Say A Little Prayer”; Martin Nievera, for “Imagine Me Without You”; Gabby Eigenmann, for “Loving.”

Best Female: Karylle, for “Can’t Live Without You”; Regine Velasquez, for “To Reach You”; Sharon Cuneta, for “Where’s the Good in Good–bye?”; Kyla for “I Feel For You”; Jaya, for “Love Hurts.”

Best Song: Barbie’s Cradle, for “Money For Food”; Regine Velasquez, for “To Reach You”; Parokya ni Edgar, for “Swimming Beach”, Kyla, for “I Feel For You”; Rivermaya, for “Umaaraw, Umuulan.”

Voters may cast their votes through ballots available at Music One, Tower Records, Odyssey, TGI Friday’s, Outback Restaurant, Italiannis Restaurant, Tequila Joe’s, California Pizza Kitchen, National Sports Grill, MTV Style Outlets, JAG stores, and Dolce & Gabbana counters in leading department stores. Votes may also be sent through snail mail to: “MTV Pilipinas 2002” P.O. Box 1696, Makati Central Post Office, 1256 Makati City, Philippines. They may also fax their votes with their name, age, address and telephone number to: (632) 633–5694, or e–mail them to mtvpilipinas@mtv–

Smart subscribers may text in their votes by keying in “MTV” in their cellphones, and sending their text to 249.

The closing date for all votes is on May 24, and the lucky voters chosen by MTV Philippines stand a chance to win exclusive tickets to the on–the–ground show! So hurry and cast your vote.

MTV Philippines 2002 is presented by Cali, Light Blue Dolce & Gabbana Parfum, Jag, SMART and Selecta Cornetto, and co–presented by Bayfresh Haven and SMB.

Reported by: Sol Jose Vanzi

All rights reserved